Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Muse continues to amaze

The Resistance, the newest release from Muse, is one of the year's most anticipated albums.

Muse’s fifth studio album, The Resistance, is probably one of their best yet. A follow-up to 2006’s Black Holes and Revelations, The Resistance has been named one of the most anticipated rock albums of the year. The band themselves describe The Resistance as a “symphonic” album.

The British trio has been popular for some time in the U.K., but more recently shot to stardom in the U.S. after Twilight creator Stephanie Meyer credited their music as her inspiration while writing the books.

In May of last year, Muse reportedly started writing material for the new album, but told fans not to expect a new album too soon. Almost a year and a half later, The Resistance is being welcomed with open arms. When the band uploaded 30-second clips of the new songs on their website three weeks ago, fans began crying for more.

The Resistance was produced by the band and mixed by Mark Stent. Stent comes highly recommended as one of the best in the business, having worked with the likes of Björk, Depeche Mode, Janet Jackson, Madonna, Marilyn Manson, Dave Matthews, No Doubt, Linkin Park, U2, Britney Spears and many other musical talents.

Muse wanted The Resistance to be “unconventional,” even considering a similar digital release to that of Radiohead’s In Rainbows. The album is certainly that–unconventional. It opens with the dance-worthy beats of the first single, “Uprising,” sweeping listeners into a fairytale-esque world of falsetto and vibrato.

The Resistance ends with one of the most notable tracks on the new album, “Exogenesis,” a three-part piece which required over 40 musicians during the recording process. Frontman Matthew Bellamy described the piece as “more of a symphony than a song” which he has worked on sporadically for many years.

A Muse album through and through, The Resistance pushes the limits of music. Each song is a sweet symphony of sound worthy of praise.

You might like this artist if you like Franz Ferdinand, The Killers, Placebo, Radiohead, Arctic Monkeys or Kaiser Chiefs.

Download this: “United States Of Eurasia (+Collateral Damage)”

Track listing:

1. Uprising

2. Resistance

3. Undisclosed Desires

4. United States of Eurasia

5. Guiding Light

6. Unnatural Selection

7. MK Ultra

8. I Belong to You

9. Exogenesis: Symphony Part I (Overture)

10. Exogenesis: Symphony Part II (Cross Pollination)

11. Exogenesis: Symphony Part III (Redemption)

No comments:

Post a Comment